Bluecoat has a long and rich history spanning back over 300 years. The school was founded in 1706 as the first charity school in Nottingham.
Under the guidance of the then rector of St. Peter’s church, Timothy Fenton. Classes were taught in the porch of St. Mary’s Church in the Lace Market area of Nottingham In 1706.
The school was founded “to train poor children in the knowledge of God and religion, as taught in the Church of England.”
Starting from a modest number of children it is now a community of over 2,300 learners, primarily based on two sites in Aspley and Aspley. A new building, costing £5.7m, will also open in January on a third site to become the permanent home of our primary school which currently has children from Reception through to Year 3 and is growing year-on-year. In 2014 a new part of the Bluecoat story took place with Bluecoat Beechdale becoming the newest member of the Bluecoat family and part of our Academy Trust.